Hudson County Community College to Hold 35th Annual Commencement Ceremonies on May 23

May 17, 2013

JERSEY CITY, N.J. / May 17, 2013 - On Thursday evening, May 23, 2013, about 1,000 students of Hudson County Community College will walk across the stage at Prudential Hall and become college graduates. The College’s Commencement Ceremonies will be held at New Jersey Performing Arts Center in Newark, N.J. and are scheduled to begin at 6:00 p.m.

Hudson County Community College (HCCC) President Dr. Glen Gabert said the ceremony’s keynote address will be delivered by J. Noah Brown, the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT). Mr. Brown is nationally recognized as an authority on community college governance, and is the author of the book, First in the World: Community Colleges and America’s Future, which was awarded the 2013 Bellwether Book Award from the Community College Futures Assembly.

Bayonne resident David Tadros, a 26-year-old HCCC student is the Class of 2013 Valedictorian and will address his fellow graduates, family and friends. Mr. Tadros, the son of Egyptian immigrants, said he is “surprised” to have been chosen for this honor, despite having carried a 4.0 grade-point average throughout his studies at the College.

Major Charles Kelly of the Salvation Army will provide the invocation for the ceremonies.

The College will also present its 2013 Heritage Award that evening to Kearny resident Kenneth H. Lindenfelser, Sr. A former Mayor and Councilman of Kearny, Mr. Lindenfelser has dedicated much of his time and energies to the community, and chaired the HCCC Foundation’s “Taste of Fall” fundraiser in 2012. He is the President of Lindenfelser Associates, Aerospace Consultants.

Also included in the ceremonies will be recognition of HCCC faculty who have provided 25 years of dedicated service. Faculty members include: Esther Berman, Gary Bensky, Joseph Colicchio, Paul Dillon, Elaine Foster, Elena Gorokhova, Theodore Kharpertian, Theodore Lai, Liliane MacPherson, Nabil Marshood, Victor Mastrovincenzo, Siroun Meguerditchian, Kevin O’Malley, Joan Rafter, Sami Khouzam, Harvey Rubenstein, Irma Sanchez-Fernandez, Mojdeh Tabatabaie, and Barry Tomkins.